Home > News > Electrical Engineering Department Alumnus Elected 2020 IEEE Fellow

Electrical Engineering Department Alumnus Elected 2020 IEEE Fellow

December 10, 2019      Author: Electrical Engineering Department


Recently, the 2020 IEEE Fellow election list was announced. A total of 282 international scholars were selected, 79 of which were Chinese scholars (28% of the total). Dr. Yi Zhang, alumnus of the Department of Electrical Engineering of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, was elected to the 2020 IEEE Fellow for his contribution to leading the development of real-time digital simulation of power systems.

Zhang Yi graduated from Shanghai Jiao Tong University with a doctorate degree in 1998. He has been at the forefront of power system analysis for the past 25 years and has expertise in real-time simulation, DC transmission and voltage stabilization.

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is the world's most famous and largest non-profit multinational academic organization in the field of electronics, electrical, computer, communications, and automation engineering technology research.

IEEE Fellow title marks the highest level for a member of the association and the highest honor awarded by the organization. Due to the small number of IEEE Fellows elected each year, it is decided that the elected scientists must be outstanding scientists who have reached important achievements in the fields of science and engineering technology.


Translated by Iga Kowalewska

Reviewed by Wang Bingyu